Tags

,

I got really stressed out at work this last week.

I did not, in certain crucial ways, have a difficult week. If my life were difficult, I would understand my anxiousness last week very differently. But, nothing in particular happened.

It was a week sufficiently in tact: work, riding, daily farm chores, and Matthew and Emmitt were both well. So why was I a bundle of stress on Friday afternoon? I don’t drink alcohol very often but I felt the need to quell my buzzing brain and anxious feelings. So Matthew took me to the Rio restaurant in Fort Collins. Anyone that has had a Rio margarita can testify that they can mess you up. I drank half of my marg and I was feeling much better (it doesn’t take much…).

I’ve been thinking a lot this weekend about why I got so stressed and what I what I want to do differently this week so I can create a different experience.

Here’s my plan:

  • Install a meditation bell on my work computer. My friend Daisie had an app loaded on her iPad that would ring a meditation bell every 25 minutes. Every time the bell rings, you breath big deep breaths.You try.
  • Schedule time in my calendar to step away. I am, admittedly, horrible at this. I get so engrossed in something that I don’t pull up. My work requires a great deal of focus and I lose myself.
  • Those two things, that’s where I’m going to start. Life is too short to be stressed.

    What about you? What strategies do you use to keep stress from building?

