My greatest gift, undoubtedly, is Matthew.

This July, Matthew and I will have been married 17 years. Not bad for two kids that lost their marriage certificate a week after getting married!

I don’t believe things happen for a reason, but I sure can appreciate serendipity. And Matthew has been my good fortune.

The reasons I love him are many, but here are a few:

He often cooks for me (I might just live on peanut butter toast if it wasn’t for him); he never once has questioned my little horse hobby; and he tucks me in each night. Really. He comes in after I’ve been reading for a while, kisses me, and tells me that he loves me. That’s all I need. He also knows if he buys me jewelry, I’ll take it back (I’d rather have a new horse blanket). With impressive patience, he taught me how to back my horse trailer. He thinks I’m beautiful even when I’m in my overalls and smell like horses (which is just about every day). And, most important, he has shown me unwavering compassion when I needed it the most.

Matthew and I met 22 years ago and he has been my best friend since. One of the things I am most proud of is our relationship. Not because we’ve avoided divorce, but because we have always treated each other with love and respect. Matthew is a good person and he happens to be my husband. Bonus for me!

Happy Valentines Day my love!
20130213-180001.jpg