Tags

,

I’m not a fan of shopping. For whatever reason, I never developed a love for spending the afternoon at the mall, searching for a cute outfit, finding a deal, or searching from store to store to find the perfect pair of shoes to go with the cute outfit that you found on sale. It’s not my thing. And I’m a horrible shopper. I often find myself scampering to throw together outfits when I travel for business. I’m surrounded by sharp dressers and I’m like the little kid that can’t match her socks. Thank goodness I kick ass in other ways. Sometimes I wish I would be selected for the show, What Not to Wear. The two hosts convert participants from dowdy to dashing. And they teach the participants how to shop and what looks good on them. It’ akin to a master’s class in style. I need that. Actually, I need a crash course in horse shopping.

For those of you that know my current horse (Mr. Pi), he is happily heading into semi-retirement. He’s ready. He has been a great teacher and it’s time for his whole program to come down many notches. Therefore, I’m currently looking for my next equine partner and I’m finding the process painful. That said, I also feel incredibly grateful to be in a position physically and financially to be searching for my next horse. And, recall – I’m not a fan of shopping. And horse shopping is shopping on steroids.

The horses I’ve found so far are either on the west coast or east coast or in Europe. And the thought of shipping a horse from Europe makes my stomach hurt. People do it all the time but I’m not a bottomless bucket of money and the thought of quarantine would worry me. So, I’m really trying to keep my search to land locked North America.

A fire-breathing dragon showing up on my doorstep is not my idea of a good time. Thus, travel required for two (me and my trainer) – which is absolutely necessary as I would never buy a horse sight unseen.

Prior to travel, the phone calls. What I’m finding is that it’s really hard to get a read from people on what the horse is like. Some people seem genuine and some not so much – shady even. The thing is that buying a horse is a big deal. The time, money, and energy (and blood, sweat, and tears) that go into owning and riding a sport horse is a huge commitment – one that I willingly make. In my search for my next horse, I’m hopeful that I find a talented, athletic partner with a good mind. And I hope my expectations are not too high.

