Tags

,

At the beginning of the new year, I was thinking about the year ahead and what I wanted to do and what I wanted to accomplish and I wrote down two questions:  Why another horse? And, Why a blog?

Photo credit to The Makers Project and photographer, Jennifer Causey

I’m currently looking to purchase another horse and the question, “Why another horse” seemed prudent given the expense, time, and energy our equine partners require.

And you know what my answer was? Because it’s a journey worth taking.

There’s nothing like a canter on a cool morning. Or a trot that goes from strong and lengthened to short and springy. And then there’s the sounds and smells of the barn. While there are mornings, especially when it’s cold, when I would rather lie in bed, I know that my horse needs to be ridden. And when I put my foot in the saddle, I know it’s a journey worth taking.

As for why a blog, I’ve been inspired by a few people that share their stories and pictures and challenges and joys on their blogs. Patrick, my brother-in-law, is one of the coolest people you will ever meet. He’s super smart and he’s a Dutmers boy which makes him one of the best men in this world. My friend Nicole is, hands down, one of the smartest and most creative and inspiring people I know. And my horse friend Shelly is funny and uber talented and a dressage enthusiast like me. And they all have a blog and they post when they can and it’s a great way to stay in touch with family and friends around the globe – from Fort Collins to Hong Kong, and Hackensack to Portland, I am blessed with beautiful people in my world. And so it goes. I am starting a blog because it’s a journey worth taking.

Just curious. I’d be interested to hear what journey you’re on that’s worth taking. Please comment!

